By Ross Jones, FOXSports.com
Patriots wide receiver Danny Amendola is no stranger to the trainer’s table. He might be spending a bit more time on it this week following a scary hit that knocked him out of Sunday’s game against the Saints.
Amendola absorbed a punishing blow from Saints safety Rafael Bush, but was unable to walk off under his own power. Team doctors immediately tended to the fifth-year wide receiver and it appeared that he had signs of a concussion on the sideline.
Unfortunately for the Patriots, they were flagged for a holding call. But kicker Stephen Gostkowski still drilled the 54-yard field goal for the Patriots to take the lead.
There wasn’t a flag thrown for the hit, and it’s a good no-call, according to NFL on FOX rules analyst Mike Pereira:
I don’t see the hit on Amendola as a crown of the helmet rule. Did not line him up and did not hit him with the crown.
— Mike Pereira (@MikePereira) October 13, 2013
Amendola returned last week for the first time since Week 1, when he sustained a groin injury.
Questions? Comments? Send them to [email protected] and we might respond in our weekly mailbag!